What the free plans include#
A free plan lets a small shop send real campaigns to a real list without a monthly bill. The limits differ more than the marketing pages suggest, so the table below lines up the four things that decide whether a free plan works for you: contacts, sends, branding and automation. Every figure comes from the provider’s own pricing or help page, checked on October 22, 2026.
| Tool | Contacts | Sends | Provider branding | Automation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tellnod | 500 | 2,000 a month | “Sent with Tellnod” in the footer | Not yet; automated flows are planned |
| Mailchimp | 250 S2 | 500 a month, 250 a day S2 | Removal not included S1 | Automation flows not included S1 |
| Klaviyo | 250 active profiles S3 | 500 a month S3 | Removal is a paid feature S3 | Included S3 |
| Brevo | Not stated on the pricing page | 300 a day S4 | Removal is a paid feature S4 | Multi-step automation is in the Standard plan S4 |
| MailerLite | 250 S5 | 2,500 a month S5 | Removal on paid plans S5 | 3 active automations S5 |
| Kit | Up to 10,000 S6 | Unlimited broadcasts S6 | Removal on paid plans S6 | Visual automations and sequences not included S6 |
| Omnisend | 250 S7 | 500 a month S7 | “Powered by Omnisend” badge required S7 | Included S7 |
| Shopify Email | Your Shopify customers | 10,000 a month on eligible Shopify plans S8 | Not stated | Available; automation emails count toward the free sends S8 |
Free plans change often. Check each pricing page before you commit, and note the date you checked.
When a free plan is enough#
A free plan is the right choice when all of the following are true:
- Your list fits within the contact limit, counted the way that tool counts it.
- Your list size times campaigns a month stays under the send limit, with room for a test send or two.
- You can accept the provider’s branding in the footer for now.
- You send one-off campaigns, such as new arrivals or a seasonal sale, rather than relying on automated flows.
- One person runs email, so a single seat is fine.
When two or more of these stop being true, compare paid plans. The Mailchimp alternatives guide lines up entry prices and how each tool works.
Which free tool fits your situation#
- You sell on Shopify and send simple newsletters: Shopify Email’s monthly allowance covers a lot of sending without another account S8.
- You want automated flows from day one on a small list: Klaviyo and Omnisend both include automation on their free plans S3S7.
- You have a large list you email rarely: a plan capped by daily sends rather than contacts, such as Brevo, may fit better S4.
- You publish a regular newsletter: Kit allows a large subscriber list on its free plan, without automated sequences S6.
- You already work in Claude or ChatGPT and want to start in minutes: Tellnod runs the whole campaign in the chat.
Tellnod’s Free plan in Claude or ChatGPT#
Tellnod is an MCP connector that adds email marketing to Claude or ChatGPT. The Free plan includes 500 contacts and 2,000 emails a month, AI drafting, previews and two-step confirm, and the unsubscribe and compliance footer, with “Sent with Tellnod” in the footer. It has no time limit. New workspaces start on a 14-day Starter trial with 2,500 contacts and up to 2,500 emails, no card needed, and move to Free afterwards unless you choose a plan. See pricing for paid tiers.
After you connect Tellnod, a first campaign for Ninefold, a small apparel brand, might go like this:
- “Set up my brand from ninefold.com and import this customer CSV. Only mark people as subscribed if the file says they opted in.”
- “Email everyone who bought knitwear this year about the new merino range, with 10% off until Friday.” The finished email appears in the chat, with desktop and mobile previews.
- “Send a test to me.” Then the assistant prepares the send and shows an approval card with the recipient count, exclusions and schedule. Only you can press Confirm.
Without your own verified domain, Tellnod sends from a shared address named after your shop, limited to 500 recipients per campaign and 1,000 emails a month. Verifying your domain lifts these limits. If your list grows past your plan, nobody is deleted; campaigns go to contacts within your limit until you upgrade.
How to get more from a free plan#
- Remove contacts who never engage. A smaller, active list keeps you under the limit and protects your sender reputation. See email list cleaning.
- Send to a segment instead of everyone. A focused segment uses fewer sends and keeps the message relevant to the people who get it. See email segmentation for e-commerce.
- Keep unsubscribes suppressed. If you move tools, bring your unsubscribed contacts across so they stay on the suppression list.
- Verify your domain early. It helps inbox placement on any tool, and Gmail requires DMARC from senders of more than 5,000 messages a day S9.
FAQ#
Is there a completely free email marketing platform?
Several platforms have free plans with no time limit, including Tellnod, Mailchimp, Klaviyo, Brevo, MailerLite, Kit and Omnisend. Each one limits contacts, sends, branding or automation, so “free” covers a small list rather than a growing business.
Which free email marketing tool has the most generous limits?
It depends on which limit matters to you. Kit allows up to 10,000 subscribers but no automated sequences; Shopify Email includes 10,000 emails a month on eligible Shopify plans; Tellnod includes 500 contacts and 2,000 emails a month. Compare against your own list size and sending frequency.
Can I use free email marketing software without branding?
Usually not. Most free plans add the provider’s footer or badge, and removing it is a paid feature on the tools compared here.
Do I need my own domain to use a free email marketing tool?
You can often start without one, but a domain you control with SPF, DKIM and DMARC in place gives better inbox placement and is required for higher volumes. Free Gmail or Yahoo From addresses tend to fail DMARC when sent through a marketing tool.
Sources#
- [S1] Mailchimp: Marketing plans and pricing, checked
- [S2] Mailchimp Help: About Mailchimp pricing plans, checked
- [S3] Klaviyo: Pricing, checked
- [S4] Brevo: Pricing plans, checked
- [S5] MailerLite: Pricing, checked
- [S6] Kit: Pricing, checked
- [S7] Omnisend: Pricing, checked
- [S8] Shopify Help Center: Shopify Messaging email pricing, checked
- [S9] Gmail Help: Email sender guidelines, checked
- [S10] Mailchimp Help: Limitations of free email addresses, checked